St Mark's CE Primary School


Welcome to St Mark's CE Primary School


The Governing Board – what do our governors do?

Governors work with senior leaders in the strategic development of the school and in raising standards of achievement. Duties include setting the school’s vision, aims & objectives, approving the school budget and appointing the headteacher. Governors must both support and challenge the headteacher; consequently, they need to gain an understanding of the school’s overall performance in order to explain its decisions and actions. They do this by attending regular meetings, carrying out school visits and meeting with senior leaders. They also attend training in order to keep up to date with the requirements of their role. Governors work as a team and make collective decisions.


Structure of the governing board

 Amanda Healey  (Foundation Governor) and Sophie Brinkworth (Parent Governor) are Co-Chairs of Governors. The full governing board (FGB) meets 9 times a year. At these meetings, it carries out its three core functions as identified by the Department for Education in the Governance Handbook:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure money is well spent.

Minutes of FGB meetings are published on the school's website (minutes of meetings page) after approval by the governing board. The FGB has adopted  the Brighton and Hove Code of Conduct for Governing Boards. Associate members do not have voting rights at Full Governing Board meetings but are welcome to attend.

The Governing Body also has a Resources Committee (Terms of Reference), an Admissions Committee (Terms of Reference) and a Pay Committee (Terms of Reference).  Minutes of these meetings are published on the website (minutes of meetings page) after approval at the following Committee meeting.

The Governing Board

Instrument of Government 24.03.2015 - 2 Parent Governors, 1 Local Authority Governor, 1 Staff Governor, 1 Headteacher, 7 Foundation Governor (6 of whom appointed by the Diocese, and 1 ex officio)

Name of Governor Type of Governor Date Appointed Appointment Details Term of Office
End Date
Archdeacon Martin Lloyd Williams Foundation Ex Officio (Diocesan)
 03.09.2018 Appointed by Diocese of Chichester 02.09.2022
Jane Fendley Headteacher  01.05.2011 Member by virtue of position N/A
due to role on GB
Vacancy Parent Elected  by parents
Sophie Brinkworth



08.02.2018 Elected  by parents 07.02.2022
Brian Ward Staff 24.07.2018 Elected by staff 23.09.2022
Amanda Healey Foundation (Diocesan) 14.09.2017 Appointed by Diocese 13.09.2021
Allistare Smedley Foundation (Diocesan) 07.10.2019 Appointed by Diocese 06.10.2023
Christine Bartley Foundation (Diocesan)  10.10.2019 Appointed by Diocese 09.10.2023
Sebastian Dawson-Bowling Foundation (Diocesan)  20.11.2020 Appointed by Diocese  19.11.2024
Kate Newman Foundation (Diocesan) 10.12.2020 Appointed by Diocese  09.12.2024
Vacancy Foundation (Diocesan) Appointed by Diocese
Vacancy LA  Recommended by LA, appointed by Board
Phil Davis Associate Member (Resources Committee) 16.11.2020 Appointed by Board 15.11.2021
Governors who have stepped down/terms of office expired during the past 12 months
Name of Governor Type of Governor Date From Date Ended Reason
Bente Bjornholt Parent 28.09.2018 20.07.2021 Resigned
Nicki O'Neill Local Authority 06.02.2018 19.04.2021 Resigned
Rose Wisdom Associate Member 01.09.2019 31.08.2020 Term of office expired
Heather Noble Foundation (Diocesan) 14.07.2020 31.08.2020 Resigned
Leanne Amarylis Foundation (Diocesan) 11.11.2019 14.09.2020 Resigned

Governor attendance at meetings: attendance record for September 2020 - July 2021

There is no obligation for associate members to attend meetings of the Full Governing Board.

Governor Admissions Committee  Resources Committee FGB Meetings 
Leanne Amarylis n/a n/a 1/1
Christine Bartley 2/2 n/a 10/12
Bente Bjornholt n/a n/a 8/12
Sophie Brinkworth n/a n/a 12/12
Sebastian Dawson-Bowling n/a n/a 6/7
Jane Fendley 2/2 5/5 10/12
Amanda Healey 2/2 5/5 11/12
Archdeacon Martin Lloyd Williams n/a n/a 7/12
Nicki O'Neill n/a 4/4 5/9
Kate Newman n/a n/a 6/6
Allistare Smedley 2/2 5/5 9/12
Brian Ward n/a n/a 8/12

Register of Interests of Governors and Associate Members 2020-2021
Name  Date interest was first registered Interest Declared
Christine Bartley 18.11.2019

Governor at Mile Oak Primary School

Trustee of Bishop Otter Academy Trust

Bente Bjornholt 16.01.2019 Has a child at the school
Sophie Brinkworth





Employed by Hamilton Lodge School for Deaf Children as an educational audiologist. Has a child at the school. 

Husband Phil Davis is Associate Member to Resources Committee

Phil Davis


Has a child at the school

Wife Sophie Brinkworth is co-chair of governors

Sebastian Dawson-Bowling



Jane Fendley 18.09.2018 Headteacher at the school
Amanda Healey 18.09.2020

East Sussex Colleague, Seasonal Teacher of French

Trustee:  Education West Africa (registered charity)

Archdeacon Martin Lloyd Williams 18.09.2018 Trustee of Bishop Otter Academy trust
Nicki O' Neill 25.09.2018 Employed by Brighton and Hove City Council - School and Governance Development
Kate Newman




updated 15.06.2021

Teacher at Roedean School (Roedean is in partnership with St Marks)

Member of NEU and Chartered College of Teaching

Programme Research Lead for the Church of England Educational Leadership Foundation  

Allistare Smedley 18.11.2019 Governor at Mile Oak Primary School and chair St John the Baptist RC Primary School
Brian Ward 17.09.2019  Staff member


Governor Responsibilities

  • Behaviour:  Allistare Smedley
  • Child Protection:  Amanda Healey
  • SEND:  Allistare Smedley
  • Health and Safety:    Allistare Smedley
  • Training and Development: Kate Newman
  • Pupil Premium:   Brian Ward, Amanda Healey 
  • Sports Premium:   Christine Bartley 
  • Maths:   Sophie Brinkworth
  • English:   Kate Newman  
  • RE/Ethos:  Christine Bartley, Archdeacon Martin Lloyd Williams
  • Roedean Partnership:   Amanda Healey
  • Wellbeing:  Sophie Brinkworth

Committee Membership

Resources Committee:  Phil Davis (Associate Member), Sebastian Dawson-Bowling, Jane Fendley, Amanda Healey (committee chair),  Allistare Smedley

Admissions Committee: Christine Bartley (committee chair), Jane Fendley, Amanda Healey, Allistare Smedley 

Pay Committee: Christine Bartley, Sebastian Dawson-Bowling, Amanda Healey  

Headteacher Appraisal Panel:  Sophie Brinkworth, Kate Newman, Allistare Smedley